Archive for June, 2012

Spring 2012 Prizewinners

June 7, 2012

Best of Show/Jury Award: David Itchkawich, “Island Avenue Nocturne”

On the first weekend of its Spring 2012 show, The Washington Square Outdoor Art Exhibit honored 20 artists with awards in the categories of fine arts and fine crafts. The awards totaled several thousand dollars.

For fine arts and photography, the judges included non-exhibiting artists Mary McGlynn and Carol Teller, and Jonathon Harding, long-time Curator of The Century Association. Sculpture and fine crafts were juried by our veteran judge, Monona Rossol, principal of ACTSNY (Arts, Crafts and Theater Safety, NY).

Artists and crafts people brought their submissions for prize jurying to the Salmagundi Club at 47 Fifth Avenue on Saturday morning, May 26th. They returned on the next day, Sunday, May 27th, to pick up their work and learn if they had won an award.

Click here to view images of the prizewinning artwork.

The roster of the prizewinners for the Spring Show follows:

Best of Show/Jury Prize
David Itchkawich, Portland, ME – “Island Avenue Nocturne”  Given as the Seymour Radow Memorial Award by Mrs. Doris P. Radow

First Prize — Sonia Grineva, New York, NY – “Regatta”  Given by Ms. Elizabeth Forrest

Second Prize —  Kevin McEvoy, Islip, N. Y – “Keat’s Fiddle”  Given as the Samuel & Laurence Ballin Award by Mrs. Natalie M. Ballin

Third Prize — Susan Grisell, Gaylordsville, CT – “Cigar Smokers”  Given as the Joseph Sagasta Memorial Award by Ms. Leonia Sagasta

First Prize – Linda B. Cromer, New York City—“Iris”  Given as the Ulric Bell Memorial Award by Mrs. Vivian H. Bell

Second Prize — William Cantwell, Havertown, PA – “The Dream”  Given by The Art Students League of New York, Mr. Ira Goldberg, Director

Mixed Media
First Prize – Pablo Martone, Washington, DC – “Motorcycle”  Given as the Stockschlaeder & Radliff Memorial Award by Mr. & Mrs. Paul Stockschlaeder

First Prize – Joel Beckwith, Jamaica, VT — Untitled.  Given as the Albert Schiller Memorial Award by Ms. Marlene Schiller

Second Prize – Emily Trueblood, New York, NY – “Ocean Night”  Given as a Gift Certificate by New York Central Art Supply, Mr. Stephen Steinberg, President

First Prize – Daniel Jones, Southold, NY – “Mesquite Dunes”  Prize given by Catherine and Douglas Ruby

Second Prize — John DiBiase, New York, NY – “Winter Fog”  Given as the Rose Parsons Memorial Award by Mrs. Doris P. Radow

The Landscape Prize
Richard Stalter, Gaylordsville, CT – “Cow Pasture”  Given as the Sam Gates Memorial Award by Ms. Thelma Gates

The Abstract Art Prize
Atsuko Okamoto, Boynton Beach, FL – “Colorscape Red”  Prize given in honor of Dr. Marcella Frank for her many years of service and support to WSOAE by a friend

The Contemporary Art Prize
Barbara Garrison, New York, N. Y. – “On the Nile”  Given as the Forbes Magazine Prize by Mr. Christopher Forbes

First Prize – Lila Turjanski-Villard, Yorktown Heights, NY.  Prize given by the Salmagundi Club, Claudia Seymour, President

Second Prize – Ed Martin, Saugerties, NY.  Prize given as the Philip Eisenberg Memorial Award by Mrs. Natalie M. Ballin


Crafts Prize, Mixed Media: Richard Birkett, “Time Mix”

Salvatore Sturiale, Hollis Hills, NY.  Prize given as the Mollie Lebowitz Memorial Award by Dr. & Mrs. Carl F. Lebowitz

Gabriel Lafleur, Shelburne Falls, MA.  Prize given as The Margaret Moulton Memorial Award by Mrs. Natalie M. Ballin

Myriam Kuhn, New York, NY.  Prize given as the Rose Gable Luftig Award by her grandchildren – Ella, Lily, Sam and Rebecca

Crafts/Mixed Media
Richard Birkett, Otego, NY.  Prize given by Graphic Display Systems, Mr. Robert Tobias, President